Things I’ve learned in the past few days

In the past week, I’ve learned:
  • that DeLillo’s Libra is an excellent book.
  • that there is a lot to say about the construction of childhood and how it relates to Brazilian street children.
  • that non-soggy pierogies are pretty good.
  • that life without internet access is really, really nice.
  • that when you meet a Serbian at Hudson Terrace, the language you’ll have in common will be Portuguese.
  • that the East Village has some really nice gardens.
  • that one does not simply walk into Mordor.
  • that I have a crippling fear of butterflies.  Well, it’s only crippling if I am in a butterfly conservatory.  But I was in one today.
  • that, light of that last one there, Nabokov was a lot creepier than I had realized.  Oh, Vladimir.
Tomorrow I’m heading to Boston for the day, and Friday will see me heading up north to my final summer destination.

 
IMG_0002
IMG_0012
IMG_0007
IMG_0014
IMG_0029
IMG_0031
IMG_0034
IMG_0039
IMG_0017
IMG_0038
IMG_0042
IMG_0045

Leave a Reply

