Snowpocalypse 2011

It snowed again in Atlanta, and this time there’s over an inch!  I couldn’t believe it myself, but when I went outside late last night, the whole neighborhood was covered in a thick [for Atlanta] white blanket and the flurries were still coming down.

I can’t tell you how excited I was to have a legitimate reason to wear my fur coat and my Russian snow boots.  I’ve noticed with while wearing both of these items that I really don’t need underlayers because they are so good at what they do.  So my parents and I went out to play in the snow.  Actually, it was more like hanging out in the snow, since all we could do was stand there and look around.

The dogs weren’t as enthusiastic about the snow as we were.  They only ventured a few feet off the porch, and Bro hated it so much that he ran back to the front door and waited there until someone let him back inside the house.  Chip was content to stand on the porch and stick his little nose out to smell the snow (as he does), but he didn’t like standing in it.  Maybe if I knit him little dog booties….

Chip smelling; Bro begging to go inside

Since we rarely ever get snow like this (indeed, the city has deemed it the Snowpocalypse), everything is definitely shut down for today and maybe even tomorrow.  There is nowhere to go, and even if there were, the whole city tends to decide that bad road conditions mean that the time is right to debut bold and daring driving manoeuvres, so I’d stay well off the roads anyway.

Luckily, wintertime means an upsurge in my personal desire to craft, so I am pretty content to sit at my desk today and work on a few craft projects before I start packing for an upcoming adventure.  I took the initiative to organize my desk yesterday, so that is making blogging, knitting, and listening to Dan Savage and Biggie at my desk even more of a pleasure.  Plus, I have a great view of the snow.

where the magic happens

You might notice the balls of yarn on the left side of my work area.  Yep, all that creative energy that I have knocking around in my brain?  It’s being channeled into making the best knit2purl2 scarf that ever existed so that I can get practice for my big goal, the knit bikini.  I’ve been wanting to knit a bikini for years, but I never got past my first [perpetually unfinished] garter stitch scarf:

it's not a yarn, not yet a sca-aaarf

You can see that my knit stitch has gotten pretty solid over the years, so I sort of decided to abandon that sunken ship and get excited about learning to purl.  After all, it is part of the master bikini plan.  Here is my new scarf so far:

This may be coming to a noncommittal neck near MC Casual BlogStyles very, very soon.  My goal, again, is to finish this by the end of the week.

In addition to knitting, I have some needlework going on.  I am embroidering Totoro onto my pillowcase.

Progress is slow because I don’t have a few colors that I need, but I plan to keep hammering at it once my scarf is done and my January/February adventure is over.  I promise that my next post will about about said adventure, but right now I need to keep going with my scarf action and enjoy some hot chocolate.

2 responses to “Snowpocalypse 2011

  1. Very nice photos of dog-men in the snow, and of your sartorial answer to the incredibly excellent weather that came our way. And the knitting, it looks perfect – don’t most folks screw up a few knots when they start out? Can’t wait to see the totoru item when you are done.

  2. There is actually a small error near the end of the scarf, but it’s pretty hard to see. It just proves that it’s handmade 🙂

Leave a Reply

