* so inspirational *

I have a lot of backlogged stuff for the ol’ blog, but I’ve been a bit busy recently.  Now that my deadline is approaching, and I have the application already turned in–overachiever!–I can resume blogging.  Thanksgiving has come and [mercifully] gone, and what kind of blogger would I be if I didn’t post a thoughtful, heartfelt list of things I’m thankful for?

Oh.  Right.  I would be MC Casual BlogStyles.  Carrying on…

Here is a list of the things that have developed in the past year that I find beneficial in some way.  Thanks for manifesting yourselves, list members.

  1. Finally mastering the art of academic bullshittery.  I was able to bring my GPA up .1 by telling professors what they wanted to hear.  Throw in the word “dialectics” and it’s an instant A.
  2. Working jobs that most people with my education won’t lower themselves to do.  I get looks of pity, but guess what!  I ALSO GET CASH.  And I have perhaps the purest motivation of all to succeed in life: I don’t want to spend my life doing restaurant work.
  3. Living with the parents.  Free food, free bed, free conversation.  Quality time with my dogs.  You’re never alone.  Etc.
  4. Being secure enough in my intellect that I can say [and believe] that some people I’ve known, and even been friends with once upon a time, are not very smart.  (Previously I would waffle on this subject and feel guilty and question my own intelligence.)
  5. Rum-flavored ice cream.  I love you, man.
  6. Fancy drinks with egg whites in them.  I yearn for you tragically.
  7. My decision to be culturally irrelevant and technologically anachronistic.  Realizing that I want nothing to do with my generation’s widespread greed and hunger for new product has really opened up my life options.  Shit, I’m not getting an internet phone, as I call them, until my old phone breaks and the iPhone comes with the basic plan.  With the exception of my camera, none of my technology was produced after 2008.  And I have still never heard “Party in the USA” all the way through, and I can’t recognize any of Justin Bieber’s songs–and I want to keep it that way.  I don’t need any more flash-in-the-pan white noise to stay in my brain while something important slips away.  I get more time to read and be awesome this way, and I’m saving a lot of money.  Plus, I’m my own conversation piece at cocktail parties.

Do I sound bitter?  If you think so, reexamine your values.  These are some of the most freeing things that have ever happened to me.

Also, I guess there are some cool people/entities too.  These are listed in no particular order, unless you think they are, in which case, okay.

A.Sals, rock on. Reconnecting with you has been magical. I'm not just saying this because nobody else will listen to me chatter about Biggie and Van Morrison.

Robert E. Lee, you were a gentleman and a scholar, and I don't believe the nasty Northern rumor that your son was dumb as rocks. I am honored to have you grace my tiny plate.

Thank you, cute taro bun mascot man, for making me buy your delicious taro bun product. You have shown me the way in a sad, confused world.

Thank you, Raymond Carver, for keeping it real. You are a great purse companion and have taught me what it is to be a true post-modernist.

Thank you, harmonica, for producing amusing sounds though you are but a lowly hunk of metal. Dogs, thank you for crashing my picture.

O cherished Bagel, thank you for tasting so delicious and coming from Montreal. You have opened whole new vistas for my bagel receptor tastebuds.

These people in this place on this day.

Thank you, high school friends (pictured and unpictured) for keeping me in the realm of general normalcy, even though I tend to float away like that guy who tied weather balloons to his lawn chair.

College friends, see caption for "high school friends" and add "and for not killing me while I slept, helpless and unawares."

Thanks, Birthday Boy, for everything so far.

I also want to give shout outs to my parents, my sister (who gets enough blog time as is!), google video chat, Biggie, and Tim Horton.  If they don’t already know that I am thankful, then I have failed.

3 responses to “* so inspirational *

  1. hahahahah. love this list, it’s so you. [also loved your korean shopping expedition. and your boots. ok the end.]

  2. great list, great photos. believe me, we’re thankful for you!

  3. I agree with n.o.e.

Leave a Reply

