Hair today…still hair tomorrow.

Disclaimer: this post has no point.

Every few weeks I decide that I am so bored with my hair and I must change it.  A lot of this is due to my laziness when it comes to styling my hair; I want the finished product, but I really don’t want to put the work into getting there.  Unfortunately, my hair will never be classified as “low-maintenance,” so growing it out is a dicey, dicey proposition.

In middle school when I had long hair, it got so tangled that I literally couldn’t run a comb through it.  The most recent time I let my hair get long was the summer after my freshman year of college, when I was living in Vermont without an air conditioner.  I got so frustrated that the day after I got home to Atlanta, I went in to the salon and had most of it chopped off.  Most of the time when I have long hair, I put it in a ponytail because that’s the easiest way to get it out of my face.

Which brings me to my point: I like the idea of long flowing hair, but whenever my hair is long, it just winds up in a ponytail anyway.  I like to dry my hair in a ponytail or Dutch braids because I am just so damn inept with the blowdryer.  Right now, it is drying like this:

I love you so much that I am willing to post a picture of me in a wifebeater without makeup to show you my hair. Country style; real time.

This means that I can undo my hair and have it come out semi-nice.  I usually run a curling iron over the front bits to make everything look nicer.

But you might remember my men of style posts.  Clearly I am drawn to CrazyGoNuts hair.  I miss being able to pincurl my hair and wake up with this:

This time, with makeup. Praise Grilled Cheesus.

It’s wild, it’s low-maintenance (I pin the curls in, I go to sleep, I wake up, take the pins out), and it’s fairly androgynous–which, if you remember, is where I’m usually located on the style continuum.  Here’s the thing: I don’t think that I am cut out for long hair.  It’s puffy and it takes hours to dry.  It’s hard for me to make long hair look good because my hair is very stubborn.  I am sick of ponytails, and there’s only so much I can braid my hair.  I’m going to grow my hair out for a little longer just because I know that I’ll be mad at myself if I don’t, but short is coming back to an MC Casual BlogStyles near you in the relatively-near future.

3 responses to “Hair today…still hair tomorrow.

  1. I still say, like I have maintained for many years, that you girls should get the bowl cut.

  2. Pingback: Spikes | MC Casual BlogStyles

Leave a Reply

