I’m searching for my mainline

I was originally going to put up Lou Reed’s “Street Hassle,” but then I was going to put up The Velvet Underground’s “Sister Ray” instead. But then I found this. The impromptu nature of this cover…

http://www.youtube.com/v/NdlcNt2lR_o?fs=1&hl=en_US

reminds me of how the Modern Lovers would just kind of re-invent their songs when performing.
http://www.youtube.com/v/_bo_e9NFm2U?fs=1&hl=en_US

If you want confirmation of this phenomenon, check out the recorded version of this same song. Rocking in a completely different way, but no less good.

I’m thinking about making some sort of slapdash list of my top 5 albums at this point. SPOILER ALERT: Expect Bob Dylan and the Modern Lovers and the Velvet Underground and the Smiths.
Leave a Reply

