Dog Days of Summer

I am making myself a Cafe Viennoise and listening to Wait Wait, Don’t Tell Me podcasts. Later today I am going to class (bartending!) and then buying coffee at the grocery store. This is one of the few days since I’ve graduated that I feel like I actually have a life.

I truly am living the dog days of summer, I have to say. Most of the day until I leave for class, all three dogs will follow me around, since I am the only person in the house. Wherever I go, there they are. This applies to all things I do: walking into my room to get my computer, making coffee, going to the bathroom (one or two of them usually slides in before I can get the door closed). They get really lonely when I’m gone for four hours, and then they’re absolutely ecstatic when I get back.
On Sunday my dad and I headed over to the Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area with the whole canine crew to get in a nice hike during a break in the weather. It was still really hot–hot enough that all three dogs flopped down into the river when we finally reached the beach area, even though they all hate swimming. A lot of people had the same idea as we did, and we met a lot of new dogs down by the river. There were also a lot of people shooting the ‘Hooch (they had the right idea!). I’ve never actually done that, but it’s on my list of things to do now that I’m back in this city.




Leave a Reply

